Pritzker price 2011 goes to Eduardo Soto de Moura

Sometimes called “The Oscar of architecture”,  the Pritzker price was created in 1979 “to honor annually a living architect whose built work
demonstrates a combination of those qualities of talent, vision and commitment, which has
produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through
the art of architecture.”

Pritzker Prize jury chairman, The Lord Palumbo, spoke from his home in the United
Kingdom, quoting from the jury citation that focuses on the reasons for this year’s choice:
“During the past three decades, Eduardo Souto de Moura has produced a body of work that is
of our time but also carries echoes of architectural traditions.”  And further, “His buildings have
a unique ability to convey seemingly conflicting characteristics — power and modesty, bravado
and subtlety, bold public authority and a sense of intimacy —at the same time.”

Eduardo is the second Portuguese architect that achieves this honor, first awarded to Alvaro Siza Vieira.

Main website:

View picture gallery